Horror Nights 2015: Week Two

bram

This is a light week for me, because next week I will be getting plenty of new release horror films in. Crimson Peak will for sure be happening, and Toronto After Dark is a horror festival that I will hopefully be attending a couple screenings of so expect full reviews of those and for them to be included in next week’s round-up. I also intend to get more classics watched, so there will be some that I’ve never seen before and some that I absolutely adore and needed to see again.

Dracula (1992)

bram-stokers-dracula-0096

Theatrical doesn’t even begin to describe Francis Ford Coppola’s take on Bram Stoker’s famous vampire tale. Bolstering some of the best performances from Gary Oldman and Anthony Hopkins, there is plenty I love in theory about Coppola’s Dracula. For one thing, it’s violent and extremely dark. While its special effects sometimes make things dated feeling and at times laughable, it is a film that makes everything about Dracula seem menacing. This is also one of the more over-the-top hyper-sexual takes on the vampire mythology, but I never felt like it went too far. Keanue Reeves is terrible, though.

Knock Knock (2015)

knock-knock-keanu-reeves

I don’t have a crush on Keanu or anything, but I was kind of excited to see what he did after the incredible John Wick. Unfortunately, when you get one bad actor and mix it with a director/writer who cannot do either of those things (Eli Roth), you get exactly what you expect. Knock Knock tries to be funny, but the only time it nails it is brief and pointless, with a character that serves as a trope rather than a plot device. The ending to this film is where I had the most problems, though, as Roth refuses to give closure to his film despite that being the only possibly unique way to handle this boring, badly-acted thriller. Even the promise of torture is extremely unsatisfying, so Roth doesn’t even manage to handle that.

Hear me talk about it here, as well.

Interview with the Vampire: The Vampire Chronicles (1994)

Interview-with-the-Vampire-The-Vampire-Chronicles-lestat-26398725-1280-720

Yes, this is what I want out of a vampire movie. Having never seen the movie and having so many people tell me how great it is, I was stoked to see Tom Cruise as a vampire. I didn’t expect to get Brad Pitt, Kirsten Dunst and Antonio Banderas as vampires too! This is probably one of the most complete looks at vampire mythology that I’ve seen, detailing some of the rules of the species and outlining the pros and cons of such a transformation. Plus, it has great performances from Cruise and Dunst, both of which do a lot with some really well-written characters. There are definitely some scenes that I will always remember when thinking about vampires.

Leave a Reply

